[Box Backup] Boxbackup deleted directories

Peter boxbackup at fluffy.co.uk
Wed Mar 8 13:08:41 GMT 2006


ons 2006-03-08 klockan 10:30 +0000 skrev Ben Summers:
> On 8 Mar 2006, at 10:24, Peter wrote:
> 
> > I'm running boxbackup from one clients server to another server housed
> > in an offsite data centre.
> >
> > Now, a while back the drive containing /home started acting funny with
> > read-errors on certain sectors.
> >
> > So I took it offline to run do some checking, and ordered a raid-card
> > and some new drives to replace it.
> >
> > I didn't kill bbackupd before I unmounted the drive however (but a  
> > short
> > time later), and when I now run bbackupquery it only lists one  
> > directory
> > in /home. The other dirs are listed as deleted.
> >
> > Now, when (and if) I manage to get most of the data off the semi- 
> > broken
> > disk and onto the new raid-array, will bbackupd have to re-transfer
> > everything?
> >
> > Or will box backup understand that it already have these files and
> > there's no need to transfer them again, just mark them as present and
> > not deleted?
> >
> > Alternatively, is there anyway I can tell box backup to make the  
> > deleted
> > directories be listed as present in the store again?
> 
> Stop bbackupd. Delete contents of /var/bbackupd . Then
> 
> bbackupquery -w
>     cd home
>     undelete dir1
>     undelete dir2
> 
>     etc...
> 
> That will mark everything as undeleted. When bbackupd nexts runs over  
> them, it'll put everything back to match what's on the disc.
> 
> There's a feature request on the wiki about this. A good one for the  
> next version, I think.
> 
> ben
> 
> 
> 

Many thanks, that did the trick.

/Peter




More information about the Boxbackup mailing list