[Box Backup] reuse server space

Chris Wilson boxbackup at boxbackup.org
Mon Jan 5 22:52:12 GMT 2009


Hi Cj,

On Mon, 5 Jan 2009, Com Puter wrote:

> I have a server with a couple of different clients that have been 
> backing up ok.  One of the clients is being reinstalled and data will be 
> put back on it.  I would like to use the same client ID for the newly 
> installed box but get rid of the old clients data on the server so the 
> backup can be started fresh.  Can I manually remove the data on the 
> server, re-sign the certificate for the client and just start it up? 
> Or do I need to have the server delete the account?  (there is about 
> 500GB of data on server)

If you really want to delete all the data in the account, and you have a 
very recent client build (post 0.11rc2) then you can use the bbackupquery 
delete command to delete each directory in the root of the account.

Otherwise, you could delete and recreate the account on the server. Or you 
could create new location names and let the old ones be deleted after 48 
hours.

Cheers, Chris.
-- 
_ ___ __     _
  / __/ / ,__(_)_  | Chris Wilson <0000 at qwirx.com> - Cambs UK |
/ (_/ ,\/ _/ /_ \ | Security/C/C++/Java/Perl/SQL/HTML Developer |
\ _/_/_/_//_/___/ | We are GNU-free your mind-and your software |



More information about the Boxbackup mailing list